Major Scale | Definition

Major Scale

The Major Scale is a diatonic scale consisting of eight ascending notes, from the key note to its octave. The sequence of intervals between the notes on the Major Scale is as follows - tone - tone - semitone - tone - tone - tone - semitone. The name of the scale is taken from the key note - therefore if you start on F then it is the scale of F Major.

Related Terms : Minor Scale

Search Google for Major Scale

Click Here to Return to the main Music Glossary page

Shane McDonald
Shanes World Wide Blog
Pictures Gallery

Music Page
Shanes Queen Site

Tab and Chords
420 Piano Chord Shapes
Guitar Chords Page

Music A-Z Glossary
Humour Site
Shane McDonald Photography Blog
ROR Site Map of in XML
Shane McDonald Photography